Hot-rolled supply guidance for 2304, also identified as UNS S32304 and compared with EN 1.4362, covering material condition, processing and inspection requirements.
HOT-ROLLED COIL, SHEET & PLATE
Define the delivery condition with the grade.
Sheye supplies this material as hot-rolled flat products. Confirm the required dimensions, heat treatment, surface and inspection basis for your order. Cold-rolled comparison values below are identified separately.
Compare the exact designation, chemical limits and test conditions before specifying material. Related grades are not automatically interchangeable or certified to all four standards.
Grade references & product scope
EN 10028-7
1.4362 / X2CrNiN23-4
Cast-analysis composition and solution-annealed, room-temperature flat-product properties. Sheye supply enquiries cover hot-rolled coil, sheet and plate; available dimensions are confirmed for each order.
Reference: 2016; current DIN EN10028-7:2016-10, checked2026-09-09
ASTM A240/A240M
2304 / UNS S32304
Plate, sheet and strip for pressure vessels and general applications. Flat-product reference data; not bar/profile specifications or guaranteed Sheye stock capability.
Reference: A240/A240M-20a
JIS G 4305
SUS323L (reference for UNS S32304 / 2304)
Cold-rolled stainless steel plate, sheet and strip. The requested Sheye additions are hot-rolled; JIS G4304 applicability must be treated separately.
Reference: 2021; current JSSA and Nippon Steel 2026 reference summariesRelated-grade / reference qualifications apply
GB/T 3280
022Cr23Ni4MoCuN / S23043 (GB/T 3280-2015 reference for S32304 / 2304)
Cold-rolled stainless steel plate, sheet and strip. Numerical values below are cold-rolled references; they are not acceptance limits for the hot-rolled products offered on this page.
Reference: 2015
Chemical composition comparison
Mass %. ≤ means maximum; ≥ means minimum. A range includes both limits. “—” means no value published in this comparison; it never means zero.
Scroll the table horizontally to compare all standards.
Element
EN 10028-72016; current DIN EN10028-7:2016-10, checked2026-09-09
ASTM A240/A240MA240/A240M-20a
JIS G 43052021; current JSSA and Nippon Steel 2026 reference summaries
GB/T 32802015
Designation
1.4362 / X2CrNiN23-4
2304 / UNS S32304
SUS323L (reference for UNS S32304 / 2304)
022Cr23Ni4MoCuN / S23043 (GB/T 3280-2015 reference for S32304 / 2304)
C
≤0.030
≤0.030
≤0.030
≤0.030
Si
≤1.00
≤1.00
≤1.00
≤1.00
Mn
≤2.00
≤2.50
—
≤2.50
P
≤0.035
≤0.040
≤0.040
≤0.040
S
≤0.015
≤0.030
≤0.030
≤0.030
Cr
22.0–24.0
21.5–24.5
21.50–24.50
21.50–24.50
Ni
3.5–5.5
3.0–5.5
3.00–5.50
3.00–5.50
Mo
0.10–0.60
0.05–0.60
0.05–0.60
0.05–0.60
N
0.05–0.20
0.05–0.20
0.05–0.20
0.05–0.20
Cu
0.10–0.60
0.05–0.60
0.05–0.60
0.05–0.60
Room-temperature mechanical properties
Rp0.2 is 0.2% proof strength; Rm is tensile strength; A is elongation. The delivery condition, product form, thickness and specimen basis belong to the value. Rows identify the reference specification or manufacturer summary and its qualifications; values are not design allowables.
Standard / designation
Condition & thickness
Rp0.2
Rm
Elongation
Hardness
EN 10028-71.4362 / X2CrNiN23-4
Solution annealed (+AT); room temperature; C — cold-rolled stript ≤8 mm
Rp0.2 ≥405 MPa for width <300 mm (longitudinal); ≥420 MPa for width ≥300 mm (transverse)
630–850 MPa
A ≥20% for t ≥3 mm; A80 ≥20% for t <3 mm
Not specified in EN10028-7 Table10
Original Table10. A uses L0=5.65√S0; A80 uses L0=80 mm, width20 mm (50 mm/12.5 mm specimen also permitted). Product-form/thickness scope is a standard limit, not a Sheye supply-range claim. Impact testing and other applicable order requirements remain relevant.
EN 10028-71.4362 / X2CrNiN23-4
Solution annealed (+AT); room temperature; H — hot-rolled strip/coil and sheett ≤13.5 mm
Rp0.2 ≥385 MPa for width <300 mm (longitudinal); ≥400 MPa for width ≥300 mm (transverse)
630–850 MPa
A ≥20% for t ≥3 mm; A80 ≥20% for t <3 mm
Not specified in EN10028-7 Table10
Original Table10. A uses L0=5.65√S0; A80 uses L0=80 mm, width20 mm (50 mm/12.5 mm specimen also permitted). Product-form/thickness scope is a standard limit, not a Sheye supply-range claim. Impact testing and other applicable order requirements remain relevant.
EN 10028-71.4362 / X2CrNiN23-4
Solution annealed (+AT); room temperature; P — hot-rolled platet ≤50 mm
Rp0.2 ≥385 MPa for width <300 mm (longitudinal); ≥400 MPa for width ≥300 mm (transverse)
600–800 MPa
A ≥25% for t ≥3 mm; A80 ≥25% for t <3 mm
Not specified in EN10028-7 Table10
Original Table10. A uses L0=5.65√S0; A80 uses L0=80 mm, width20 mm (50 mm/12.5 mm specimen also permitted). Product-form/thickness scope is a standard limit, not a Sheye supply-range claim. Impact testing and other applicable order requirements remain relevant.
ASTM A240/A240M2304 / UNS S32304
Annealed flat product; room-temperature acceptance referenceNo grade-specific thickness split in the cited Table 2 row
≥400 MPa (0.2% offset)
≥600 MPa
≥25% (50 mm or 2 in. gauge length)
≤290 HBW or ≤32 HRC
Room-temperature Table 2 reference; values are the printed SI limits. ASTM SI and inch-pound systems are independent. Yield uses 0.2% offset; Table 2 note B allows 0.5% total-extension-under-load unless otherwise specified. Elongation uses a 50 mm or 2 in. gauge length. Hardness alternatives and thin-material provisions follow Table 2 note C and A480. A480/A480M-22a §17.1.1: finished-material tension specimens may be longitudinal and/or transverse unless otherwise specified or agreed. Confirm the test direction in the contract and MTC.
JIS G 4305SUS323L (reference for UNS S32304 / 2304)
Cold-rolled, heat-treated reference; confirm solution-treated delivery condition against the order specificationt ≤2.0 mm; tensile-test lower-thickness rules require the contractual standard
≥400 MPa
≥600 MPa
≥20%
≤290 HB or ≤32 HRC or ≤310 HV
Source: Nippon Steel S013, March 2026, cold-rolled SUS323L table (JIS G4305 product coverage identified separately). Manufacturer standard-limit summary, not typical measured results. The heat treatment, specimen/gauge basis and all general thickness rules require confirmation from the contractual JIS edition.
JIS G 4305SUS323L (reference for UNS S32304 / 2304)
Cold-rolled, heat-treated reference; confirm solution-treated delivery condition against the order specificationt >2.0 mm; manufacturer table gives no upper supply-size guarantee
≥400 MPa
≥600 MPa
≥25%
≤290 HB or ≤32 HRC or ≤310 HV
Source: Nippon Steel S013, March 2026, cold-rolled SUS323L table. The 25% elongation minimum applies above 2.0 mm; the thinner category has a 20% minimum. Standard test conditions and the confirmed supply dimensions are separate requirements.
Solution-treated cold-rolled flat products; room temperatureCold-rolled only; A50 for t ≤3 mm; elongation and hardness reference only below 0.3 mm
≥400 MPa (Rp0.2)
≥600 MPa
≥25%
HBW ≤290 or HRC ≤31
GB/T 3280-2015 Table 27. Select one suitable listed hardness method. These cold-rolled limits must not be used as hot-rolled coil, sheet or plate acceptance criteria. Test specimen and contractual requirements remain applicable.
Reference editions & ordering conditions
ASTM A240 covers flat products; EN 10028-7 is for pressure-purpose flat products. JIS G4305 and GB/T 3280 cover cold-rolled flat products. Their cold-rolled values must not be used as acceptance limits for hot-rolled plate, bars or profiles. Confirm the standard edition and all supplementary requirements in the purchase order and mill test certificate.
EN 10028-7 — 2016; current DIN EN10028-7:2016-10, checked2026-09-09
Values are EN specification references, not automatic cross-standard equivalence, mill certification or universal as-hot-rolled guarantees. Width/direction-dependent yield minima are fully identified.
EN 10028-7:2016 Table 10 defines the width- and direction-dependent proof-strength values and applicable thickness limits shown here. EN10028-7:2016 Table4 Cr is22.0–24.0%; EN10088-1:2023 Table3 is22.0–24.5%. The newer general-purpose catalogue range must not overwrite the pressure-purpose2016 row. Outokumpu Table5 notes EN10088-2/-3 as its basis. Its2304 H Rm650–850 and P Rm630–800 are not the EN10028-7 values630–850 and600–800 above. The C row describes cold-rolled reference properties; the supply enquiry on this page is for hot-rolled products.
BS EN 10028-7:2016 original standard text — public mirrorCEN/BSI-authored standard text, not the site's editorial data: printedp.24 Table10, including complete width/direction headings, thickness maxima, A80/A columns and footnotes. Cross-checked with 2018-printed copy.
Outokumpu Forta range datasheetGrade identities LDX2101=1.4162/S32101; DX2304=1.4362/S32304. Table5,p.9 explicitly notes EN10088-2/-3 basis, so not used as EN10028-7 strength limits.
Chemistry is heat-analysis mass percent. Omitted elements have no requirement in the cited row, not zero. A480/A480M governs product-analysis tolerances and general requirements. Mechanical values use the printed SI column. ASTM regards SI and inch-pound systems as independent: do not convert ksi to generate an SI acceptance limit. Room-temperature Table 2 reference properties. Confirm delivery heat treatment, specimen preparation, dimensional tolerances and all general requirements against the contractual A480/A480M edition. Yield is based on 0.2% offset; a 0.5% total-extension-under-load alternative is permitted unless otherwise specified. Elongation gauge length is 50 mm or 2 in. HBW and the specified Rockwell scale are alternative permissible methods; thin-gauge superficial hardness provisions apply. The full 2026 numerical tables were not available for verification. Display the reference edition and confirm the contractual edition and certificate before accepting an order.
Heat-analysis mass percent from ASTM A240/A240M-20a Table 1. Omitted elements are not zero-content requirements; product-analysis tolerances are governed separately. ASTM A240/A240M-26 is the current official catalogue edition. These are explicitly 20a reference values; the complete 2026 numeric tables were not directly verified. Hot-rolled coil/sheet/plate must still meet the specified annealed delivery condition, surface, dimensions and inspection requirements. These tables do not establish Sheye production dimensions. No numeric grain-size grade or fixed ferrite/austenite percentage is specified for this grade in the cited A240 rows. Agree any microstructure or phase-balance acceptance criteria separately; do not impose the austenitic H-grade grain rule on duplex material. A480/A480M-22a §18.3 requires A923/A1084 testing only when ordered, with grade applicability to be checked. Do not claim that every heat has passed an intermetallic-phase test without a certificate. 2304 is a commonly used trade designation for UNS S32304. ASTM Table 1 printed p.4 and Table 2 printed p.9. 2304 is a commonly used trade designation; UNS S32304 is the exact ASTM UNS identifier. Annealing reference: A480/A480M-22a Table A1.2 minimum 980°C, water quench or rapid cooling by other means; confirm the contract's incorporated edition. The molybdenum and copper requirements are each 0.05–0.60%, not a simple maximum. Do not substitute an enhanced-2304 steelmaker target as the generic ASTM limits.
JIS G 4305 — 2021; current JSSA and Nippon Steel 2026 reference summaries
JSA confirms the 2021 edition remains valid and was reaffirmed on 20 October 2025. Full purchased normative tables and all footnotes were not available for a complete current-edition audit. Listed chemistry is mass percent from primary JIS-grade summaries, not typical mill analysis. Missing cells mean not reproduced or not verified, not zero. Mechanical limits apply to the stated annealed/solution-treated cold-rolled condition at room temperature. Sampling, gauge length, direction, thickness-related rules and acceptance methods require the contractual standard. Corresponding designations are comparisons, not unconditional equivalence or proof that every supplied heat meets all listed standards.
Nippon Steel identifies SUS323L for both JIS G4304 hot-rolled and JIS G4305 cold-rolled products and relates it to UNS S32304. The mechanical rows displayed here are specifically the cold-rolled JIS G4305 summary. Mn remains withheld: the current JSSA chemistry page shows 2.50–4.00%, an unresolved source conflict. Do not substitute the GB or ASTM Mn limit into the JIS column. The new Sheye product is hot-rolled. Its acceptance criteria must use the specified hot-rolled standard and product thickness; these cold-rolled rows are not hot-rolled supply guarantees. S32304 and 2304 refer to the same grade family in this comparison.
Nippon Steel - Duplex stainless steel S013, March 2026Printed pp.17-18 identify JIS G4305 product coverage. PDF p.11 (printed pp.19-20), specifically the cold-rolled table: SUS323L at t <=2.0 mm and t >2.0 mm. Do not use the adjacent hot-rolled or bar tables.
JSA — JIS G 4304:2021Current valid hot-rolled stainless steel plate, sheet and strip standard; reaffirmed 20 October 2025. Edition and scope reference only; no hot-rolled grade acceptance limits are reproduced from this listing.
GB/T 3280 — 2015
Chemical composition is heat analysis, mass percent, from GB/T 3280-2015. The corresponding designation is a reference, not automatic cross-standard certification. The requested Sheye product is hot-rolled coil, sheet or plate. GB/T 3280 is a cold-rolled comparison only; confirm a hot-rolled order against GB/T 4237 or the other agreed hot-rolled product specification, including delivery condition and thickness-dependent tests. These standard reference properties do not state Sheye inventory, production dimensions, typical heat analysis or guaranteed cross-certification. Annex A compares S23043 with S32304 / 2304. GB/T 3280-2015 sets P ≤0.040% and Rp0.2 ≥400 MPa for this row. Do not replace these with the different P/proof requirements in T/CEA 0053-2024.
GB/T 3280-2015, authored standard (reference scan)Table 17, printed p.12, chemistry; Table 27, pp.19-20, solution-treated duplex mechanical properties; Table A.1, p.32, corresponding designations. Original scan visually checked, not a distributor table.
SAMR — GB/T 3280-2015Official current status and cold-rolled plate, sheet and strip scope.
SAMR — GB/T 4237-2015Official current status and hot-rolled plate, sheet and strip scope. Edition and scope reference only; no hot-rolled numerical limits are reproduced from this listing.
Reference review: 9 September 2026 · Sheye Metal
SHEYE SUPPLY
S32304 / 2304 product forms & order details
Supply by product form
Sheye supplies 2304 in plates. Specify thickness, width or cut length, finish, quantity and the required delivery condition so the material and processing route can be reviewed together.
What to confirm for 2304
A lean duplex stainless family. Compare the exact grade reference and the product-specific mechanical test conditions. Specify the full grade designation and standard edition in the enquiry. Any dual-standard certification must be confirmed for the actual material.
Inspection & processing requirements
Include the mill test certificate requirements, heat traceability, dimensional tolerances and any additional tests. For processed coils or strip, also state edge condition, coil inside diameter, coil weight and surface protection. Processing feasibility is reviewed against the material strength and dimensions.
2304 / S32304 hot-rolled supply
2304 and UNS S32304 identify the material discussed in this guide. The European comparison is 1.4362 / X2CrNiN23-4. This lean duplex stainless steel combines an austenitic-ferritic structure with useful strength and corrosion resistance for appropriately selected fabricated equipment and components.
Sheye Metal welcomes enquiries for hot-rolled coil, sheets cut from coil and plate. Specify the required dimensions, quantity and delivery form so that the material and processing requirements can be reviewed together. A standard’s thickness range defines its testing scope; it does not represent an automatically available production or stock range.
Choose the applicable specification
Identify whether the order requires ASTM A240/A240M, EN 10028-7 or another agreed product standard. EN 10028-7 addresses pressure-purpose flat products; general-purpose EN 10088 requirements should be reviewed separately. Chemical ranges and mechanical values can differ between standards and editions.
The EN mechanical comparison applies to solution-annealed material and distinguishes hot-rolled strip from plate. Yield requirements also depend on width and test direction. State the required condition and inspection basis in the enquiry, particularly where material will be cut or slit before delivery.
Discuss the environment and fabrication route
Include the component’s contact media, chloride exposure, cleaning conditions and relevant design requirements. A grade name alone does not establish suitability for every corrosive environment. Where a project specifies another stainless grade, review a proposed substitution against the full material and fabrication requirements.
Tell us about planned forming, welding and surface treatment. Provide the drawing requirements for cut edges, dimensional tolerances, flatness and surface appearance. Any special testing or inspection after processing should be agreed as part of the supply review.
Keep certification connected to the material
Request the certificate type required by the project and identify any need for heat-by-heat records. For cut sheets and plates, state how heat identification should be carried through marking and packing. Standard limits are the acceptance reference when specified in the order; a steelmaker’s typical datasheet values are supporting information. The final quotation should confirm the offered dimensions, condition, processing scope and documentation.
May we use optional analytics cookies to understand visits and improve our website? You can use our website and send inquiries either way.
About analytics
With your permission, Google Analytics measures pages viewed, approximate visitor regions and inquiry, email and WhatsApp link interactions. It uses first-party cookies that identify a browser. We do not send your inquiry content, name, email address or phone number to Analytics. Google may process analytics data outside your country. Our analytics cookies expire within 6 months; your choice is remembered for 6 months. Withdraw permission any time using Privacy choices. This stops future collection and clears our analytics cookies.