304 stainless steel: practical questions before you buy
Understand 304 grade designations, coastal corrosion, surface selection, fabrication and certification before ordering coil, sheet or plate.
BUYING & FABRICATION GUIDE
Practical questions about 304 stainless steel
304 combines useful corrosion resistance with adaptable forming and welding behavior. The right purchase still depends on where the part will work, how it will be fabricated and which standard governs acceptance. These answers connect material selection with the information a fabricator needs.
Sheye Metal · Technical purchasing guide · Updated 9 September 2026
Why is 304 stainless steel used so widely?
304 is a widely used austenitic chromium-nickel stainless steel because it balances corrosion resistance, ductility, welding behavior and surface options. It can suit formed kitchen components, equipment housings, tanks and architectural work where the service conditions fit the alloy. This balance often makes procurement and fabrication straightforward, but it does not make 304 the strongest, most corrosion-resistant or most heat-resistant stainless steel. Start with the environment and manufacturing route: a familiar grade is useful only when its limitations match the job.
Are 304, S30400, S30408, SUS304 and 1.4301 the same designation?
They are commonly associated grade references from different systems, rather than five interchangeable labels on every certificate. Type 304 and UNS S30400 are used together in ASTM A240; SUS304 belongs to JIS, while S30408 and 06Cr19Ni10 are Chinese references and 1.4301 is an EN number. Composition limits, mechanical requirements and product scope can differ. S30408 should not be described as a UNS number. A purchase order should state the required product standard, edition, grade and delivery condition, then use the mill certificate to demonstrate compliance.
What carbon limit applies to 304 compared with 304L?
A carbon limit belongs to a specific standard and edition. As an explicitly dated example, ASTM A240/A240M-20a Table 1 permits a maximum of 0.08% carbon for Type 304 / S30400 and 0.030% for Type 304L / S30403, by mass. These are acceptance limits, not the actual carbon content of every heat. Do not transfer one table into an order governed by a different specification or assume every 304 heat approaches the maximum. Check the heat analysis against the edition named in the contract. ASTM A240/A240M-20a, Table 1.
Can genuine 304 develop brown staining near the coast?
Yes. Salt deposited on a damp surface can create an aggressive local environment even when the steel is genuine 304. Brown discoloration can also involve contamination or inadequately cleaned welds, so appearance alone does not establish the cause or identify the grade. Assess deposits, drainage, sheltered surfaces and any actual pits before deciding on remedial work. For marine exposure, 316/316L or a more resistant alloy is often a better selection, while severe conditions need their own assessment. ASSDA coastal-corrosion guidance explains why material, fabrication and maintenance all matter.
Can distance from the sea or a C4/C5 category predict 304 service life?
Neither is enough to calculate a reliable number of years. Salt loading, rain washing, humidity, temperature, crevices and the acceptance criterion all influence performance. A stained decorative panel and a leaking process vessel have very different failure criteria. Localized pitting also cannot be reduced to a uniform annual thickness-loss allowance. For an outdoor project, provide photographs or exposure details, identify sheltered and splash areas, and describe the planned cleaning regime. Use that information to select a grade and finish, rather than promising a fixed lifespan from a coastal-distance rule.
Does a polished 304 surface automatically resist corrosion better?
Surface condition influences how deposits collect and how easily the part can be cleaned. A smooth, clean surface can reduce initiation sites, while grooves, contamination and poorly finished welds can undermine performance. A finish name alone does not settle every functional or visual requirement. For a visible panel, specify the required appearance and direction of the grain; where cleanability is critical, define the relevant roughness and inspection requirements. Polishing does not change 304 into a higher-alloy grade. Evaluate the finished surface together with its actual exposure and the maintenance plan.
What should a fabricator consider when forming or cutting 304?
304 can be processed by bending, drawing, deep drawing, laser cutting and other established methods, but the route should match the part. Its ductility helps complex shapes, while cold deformation increases strength and changes subsequent forming behavior. A deep-drawn component therefore needs more information than the label 304: describe the part geometry, deformation sequence, starting condition and surface requirement. Bending and cutting jobs also benefit from agreed edge quality and dimensional criteria. Use a sample or production trial when the operation is demanding; a grade name alone cannot guarantee a forming result.
When is 304L worth considering instead of 304 for welding?
304 is weldable. The reason to consider 304L is its lower tendency to form chromium carbides during thermal exposure, which reduces sensitization and associated intergranular-corrosion risk. This becomes more relevant with substantial sections, repeated welding cycles or equipment that cannot be solution annealed after fabrication. It does not establish a universal thickness at which 304 becomes unsuitable. Evaluate the welding sequence, subsequent heat treatment and service environment together. Specifying low carbon also does not replace weld cleaning, a suitable filler metal or a qualified procedure where required.
How do 304L, 304H, 304N and deep-drawing variants differ?
The suffix or mill quality description points to a particular objective. 304L emphasizes low carbon and resistance to sensitization; 304H uses controlled higher carbon for elevated-temperature strength; 304N uses nitrogen for strength. A deep-drawing quality such as a mill-defined DDQ product addresses forming performance and needs an agreed mill specification. These variants should not be substituted solely because their names begin with 304. For elevated-temperature equipment, the design code, stress, exposure time and required material condition govern selection; room-temperature strength or oxidation resistance alone is insufficient.
Can a mill certificate legitimately state 304/304L or more than one standard?
Yes, when the supplied material meets all applicable requirements being certified and the mill explicitly identifies them. A low carbon result is only one part of that assessment: chemistry, mechanical properties, delivery condition, testing and other relevant provisions still matter. Multiple labels do not automatically prove equivalence, but multiple certification is not inherently invalid either. Request the required certification when ordering and check its connection to the material identification. A supplier or buyer should not add a second grade merely because selected test results look compatible.
What should I include in a 304 coil, sheet or plate inquiry?
Identify the product form, required dimensions and tolerances, rolling and delivery condition, finish, quantity and governing standard with its edition. Then explain the intended operation: deep drawing, bending, welded fabrication or appearance-critical use can lead to different purchasing priorities. Include the service environment, certificate requirements and any agreed inspection criteria. An equipment application in food processing or medicine also needs its own design, surface and regulatory requirements; the grade designation alone does not establish compliance. This information lets Sheye Metal review the material request against the actual job.
Technical reading and source notes
Prepared from Sheye Metal’s technical material and the references below. Product datasheets and test methods have their own scope; a reference does not certify a supplied heat or approve a finished design.
ASTM A240/A240M-20a — reference edition, Tables 1 and 2 — Original ASTM standard reproduced by a public distributor mirror. Table 1 identifies S30400, S30403 and S30409 and their carbon limits. Values are explicitly tied to the 20a reference edition; use the edition specified in the order.
Outokumpu — Core range datasheet — Steelmaker guidance on 304/304L families, formability, surfaces and corrosion. Typical mill chemistry is not a universal delivery specification.
Compare related material guides: 304L · 316L · 430
304 standard comparison
Compare the exact designation, chemical limits and test conditions before specifying material. Related grades are not automatically interchangeable or certified to all four standards.
Grade references & product scope
EN 10028-7
1.4301 / X5CrNi18-10
Stainless steel flat products for pressure purposes. Grade, product form, thickness and delivery treatment must match the standard. It is not a bar/profile standard.
Reference: 2016 (DIN EN10028-7:2016-10 current, checked2026-09-09)
ASTM A240/A240M
Type 304 / UNS S30400
Plate, sheet and strip for pressure vessels and general applications. Flat-product reference data; not bar/profile specifications or guaranteed Sheye stock capability.
Cold-rolled stainless steel plate, sheet and strip. These flat-product data do not establish a hot-rolled plate, bar or profile specification.
Reference: JIS G 4305:2021 grade references; steelmaker summaries and explicitly labelled 2012 mechanical rows
GB/T 3280
06Cr19Ni10 / S30408
Cold-rolled stainless steel sheet, plate and strip, including slit wide strip. These values are not hot-rolled plate, bar or profile acceptance limits.
Reference: 2015
Chemical composition comparison
Mass %. ≤ means maximum; ≥ means minimum. A range includes both limits. “—” means no value published in this comparison; it never means zero.
Scroll the table horizontally to compare all standards.
Element
EN 10028-72016 (DIN EN10028-7:2016-10 current, checked2026-09-09)
JIS G 4305JIS G 4305:2021 grade references; steelmaker summaries and explicitly labelled 2012 mechanical rows
GB/T 32802015
Designation
1.4301 / X5CrNi18-10
Type 304 / UNS S30400
SUS304
06Cr19Ni10 / S30408
C
≤0.07
≤0.08
≤0.08
≤0.07
Si
≤1.00
≤0.75
≤1.00
≤0.75
Mn
≤2.00
≤2.00
≤2.00
≤2.00
P
≤0.045
≤0.045
≤0.045
≤0.045
S
≤0.015
≤0.030
≤0.030
≤0.030
Cr
17.5–19.5
18.0–20.0
18.00–20.00
17.50–19.50
Ni
8.0–10.5
8.0–11.0
8.00–10.50
8.00–10.50
N
≤0.10
≤0.10
—
≤0.10
Room-temperature mechanical properties
Rp0.2 is 0.2% proof strength; Rm is tensile strength; A is elongation. The delivery condition, product form, thickness and specimen basis belong to the value. Rows identify the reference specification or manufacturer summary and its qualifications; values are not design allowables.
Standard / designation
Condition & thickness
Rp0.2
Rm
Elongation
Hardness
EN 10028-71.4301 / X5CrNi18-10
Solution annealed; C (cold-rolled strip); transverse proof-strength test; rolling width ≥300 mmt ≤8 mm
Rp0.2 ≥230 MPa
540–750 MPa
A80 (t <3 mm) ≥45%; A (t ≥3 mm) ≥45%
Not specified in this comparison
Rp1.0 ≥260 MPa. Standard Table9. A uses L0=5.65√S0. Separate provisions apply to narrow strip and stretcher-levelled material.
EN 10028-71.4301 / X5CrNi18-10
Solution annealed; H (hot-rolled strip); transverse proof-strength test; rolling width ≥300 mmt ≤13.5 mm
Rp0.2 ≥210 MPa
520–720 MPa
A80 (t <3 mm) ≥45%; A (t ≥3 mm) ≥45%
Not specified in this comparison
Rp1.0 ≥250 MPa. Standard Table9; product dimensions shown are standard test categories, not Sheye supply ranges.
EN 10028-71.4301 / X5CrNi18-10
Solution annealed; P (hot-rolled plate); transverse proof-strength testt ≤75 mm
Rp0.2 ≥210 MPa
520–720 MPa
A ≥45% (L0=5.65√S0)
Not specified in this comparison
Rp1.0 ≥250 MPa. Standard Table9. Plate dimensions shown are standard test categories, not Sheye supply ranges.
ASTM A240/A240MType 304 / UNS S30400
Annealed / heat-treated flat-product reference; confirm A480/A480M delivery requirementsNo grade-specific thickness split in the cited Table 2 row
≥205 MPa (0.2% proof)
≥515 MPa
≥40% (50 mm gauge length)
≤201 HBW or ≤92 HRBW
JIS G 4305SUS304
Solution-treated cold-rolled plate, sheet and strip; room-temperature reference limitsNo separate grade-specific thickness band is shown in this public summary; confirm thin-gauge test provisions in the contractual standard.
≥205 MPa (0.2% proof stress)
≥520 MPa
≥40%
HV ≤200
Public steelmaker JIS-grade summary, not typical measured values. Specimen type, direction, gauge length and any test exemptions require the contractual JIS edition.
GB/T 328006Cr19Ni10 / S30408
Solution treatedCold-rolled flat products; see test-thickness notes
≥205 MPa
≥515 MPa
≥40%
HBW ≤201 / HRB ≤92 / HV ≤210
A50 for t ≤3 mm; elongation/hardness reference only if t <0.3 mm.
Reference editions & ordering conditions
ASTM A240 covers flat products; EN 10028-7 is for pressure-purpose flat products. JIS G4305 and GB/T 3280 cover cold-rolled flat products. Their cold-rolled values must not be used as acceptance limits for hot-rolled plate, bars or profiles. Confirm the standard edition and all supplementary requirements in the purchase order and mill test certificate.
EN 10028-7 — 2016 (DIN EN10028-7:2016-10 current, checked2026-09-09)
Chemical values are cast-analysis mass percentages. A dash/omitted element means no limit stated in the selected table, never zero content. Cross-standard grade names are comparison references, not automatic equivalence or proof of Sheye certification.
Common 304-family EN reference; cross-standard certification must be checked by heat. The elongation rule for stretcher-levelled C/H material requires Table9 footnote g review.
Chemistry is heat-analysis mass percent. Omitted elements have no requirement in the cited row, not zero. A480/A480M governs product-analysis tolerances and general requirements. Mechanical values use the printed SI column. ASTM regards SI and inch-pound systems as independent: do not convert ksi to generate an SI acceptance limit. Room-temperature Table 2 reference properties. Confirm delivery heat treatment, specimen preparation, dimensional tolerances and all general requirements against the contractual A480/A480M edition. Yield is based on 0.2% offset; a 0.5% total-extension-under-load alternative is permitted unless otherwise specified. Elongation gauge length is 50 mm or 2 in. HBW and the specified Rockwell scale are alternative permissible methods; thin-gauge superficial hardness provisions apply. The full 2026 numerical tables were not available for verification. Display the reference edition and confirm the contractual edition and certificate before accepting an order.
ASTM20a specifies Ni8.0–11.0%; do not substitute a JIS band or a narrower mill target.
JIS G 4305 — JIS G 4305:2021 grade references; steelmaker summaries and explicitly labelled 2012 mechanical rows
JSA confirms the 2021 edition remains valid and was reaffirmed on 20 October 2025. Full purchased normative tables and all footnotes were not available for a complete current-edition audit. Listed chemistry is mass percent from primary JIS-grade summaries, not typical mill analysis. Missing cells mean not reproduced or not verified, not zero. Mechanical limits apply to the stated annealed/solution-treated cold-rolled condition at room temperature. Sampling, gauge length, direction, thickness-related rules and acceptance methods require the contractual standard. Corresponding designations are comparisons, not unconditional equivalence or proof that every supplied heat meets all listed standards.
Chemistry is the JSSA published JIS grade limit summary, mass %. An omitted element is not a zero-content requirement. Reference grade comparison only; certification to one standard does not automatically establish compliance with another.
Chemistry is heat analysis, mass %. The GB designation is a related reference, not automatic cross-standard certification. For thickness below 0.3 mm, elongation and hardness are reference values only. A50 is used at thickness ≤3 mm. Mechanical testing of re-rolling feedstock is performed when requested and specified in the contract (8.2).
Sheye supplies 304 in coils, strips, sheets, plates. Specify thickness, width or cut length, finish, quantity and the required delivery condition so the material and processing route can be reviewed together.
What to confirm for 304
A chromium–nickel austenitic grade. Compare the different nickel bands and mechanical test conditions across standards. Specify the full grade designation and standard edition in the enquiry. Any dual-standard certification must be confirmed for the actual material.
Inspection & processing requirements
Include the mill test certificate requirements, heat traceability, dimensional tolerances and any additional tests. For processed coils or strip, also state edge condition, coil inside diameter, coil weight and surface protection. Processing feasibility is reviewed against the material strength and dimensions.
May we use optional analytics cookies to understand visits and improve our website? You can use our website and send inquiries either way.
About analytics
With your permission, Google Analytics measures pages viewed, approximate visitor regions and inquiry, email and WhatsApp link interactions. It uses first-party cookies that identify a browser. We do not send your inquiry content, name, email address or phone number to Analytics. Google may process analytics data outside your country. Our analytics cookies expire within 6 months; your choice is remembered for 6 months. Withdraw permission any time using Privacy choices. This stops future collection and clears our analytics cookies.