A lean duplex option for hot-rolled coil, sheet and plate, with clearly identified UNS and EN references and practical guidance for fabrication and purchasing.
HOT-ROLLED COIL, SHEET & PLATE
Define the delivery condition with the grade.
Sheye supplies this material as hot-rolled flat products. Confirm the required dimensions, heat treatment, surface and inspection basis for your order. Cold-rolled comparison values below are identified separately.
Compare the exact designation, chemical limits and test conditions before specifying material. Related grades are not automatically interchangeable or certified to all four standards.
Grade references & product scope
EN 10028-7
1.4482 / X2CrMnNiMoN21-5-3
Cast-analysis composition and solution-annealed, room-temperature flat-product properties. Sheye supply enquiries cover hot-rolled coil, sheet and plate; available dimensions are confirmed for each order.
Reference: 2016; current DIN EN10028-7:2016-10, checked2026-09-09
ASTM A240/A240M
UNS S32001
Plate, sheet and strip for pressure vessels and general applications. Flat-product reference data; not bar/profile specifications or guaranteed Sheye stock capability.
Reference: A240/A240M-20a
JIS G 4305
No direct JIS counterpart verified
Cold-rolled stainless steel plate, sheet and strip. The requested Sheye additions are hot-rolled; JIS G4304 applicability must be treated separately.
Reference: 2021; current JSSA and Nippon Steel 2026 reference summariesSpecification confirmation required
No direct JIS G4305 or G4304 counterpart for S32001 was established from the reviewed JSA, JSSA and Japanese steelmaker primary sources. This means the direct correspondence is unverified, not a claim that no contractual Japanese specification can ever be agreed. JIS G4305 covers cold-rolled flat products. JIS G4304 is the separate hot-rolled flat-product standard; its scope alone does not establish grade coverage or numerical acceptance limits. Do not relabel SUS821L1, SUS323L or SUS329J3L as this grade merely because each is a duplex stainless steel.
GB/T 3280
022Cr21Mn5Ni2N / S22152 (GB/T 3280-2015 reference for UNS S32001)
Cold-rolled stainless steel plate, sheet and strip. Numerical values below are cold-rolled references; they are not acceptance limits for the hot-rolled products offered on this page.
Reference: 2015
Chemical composition comparison
Mass %. ≤ means maximum; ≥ means minimum. A range includes both limits. “—” means no value published in this comparison; it never means zero.
Scroll the table horizontally to compare all standards.
Element
EN 10028-72016; current DIN EN10028-7:2016-10, checked2026-09-09
ASTM A240/A240MA240/A240M-20a
JIS G 43052021; current JSSA and Nippon Steel 2026 reference summaries
GB/T 32802015
Designation
1.4482 / X2CrMnNiMoN21-5-3
UNS S32001
No direct JIS counterpart verified
022Cr21Mn5Ni2N / S22152 (GB/T 3280-2015 reference for UNS S32001)
C
≤0.030
≤0.030
—
≤0.030
Si
≤1.00
≤1.00
—
≤1.00
Mn
4.0–6.0
4.00–6.00
—
4.00–6.00
P
≤0.035
≤0.040
—
≤0.040
S
≤0.030
≤0.030
—
≤0.030
Cr
19.5–21.5
19.5–21.5
—
19.50–21.50
Ni
1.50–3.50
1.00–3.00
—
1.00–3.00
Mo
0.10–0.60
≤0.60
—
≤0.60
N
0.05–0.20
0.05–0.17
—
0.05–0.17
Cu
≤1.00
≤1.00
—
≤1.00
Room-temperature mechanical properties
Rp0.2 is 0.2% proof strength; Rm is tensile strength; A is elongation. The delivery condition, product form, thickness and specimen basis belong to the value. Rows identify the reference specification or manufacturer summary and its qualifications; values are not design allowables.
Standard / designation
Condition & thickness
Rp0.2
Rm
Elongation
Hardness
EN 10028-71.4482 / X2CrMnNiMoN21-5-3
Solution annealed (+AT); room temperature; H — hot-rolled strip/coil and sheett ≤10 mm
Rp0.2 ≥465 MPa for width <300 mm (longitudinal); ≥480 MPa for width ≥300 mm (transverse)
660–900 MPa
A ≥30% for t ≥3 mm; A80 ≥30% for t <3 mm
Not specified in EN10028-7 Table10
Original Table10. A uses L0=5.65√S0; A80 uses L0=80 mm, width20 mm (50 mm/12.5 mm specimen also permitted). Product-form/thickness scope is a standard limit, not a Sheye supply-range claim. Impact testing and other applicable order requirements remain relevant.
EN 10028-71.4482 / X2CrMnNiMoN21-5-3
Solution annealed (+AT); room temperature; P — hot-rolled platet ≤75 mm; no thin-product A80 value specified
Rp0.2 ≥435 MPa for width <300 mm (longitudinal); ≥450 MPa for width ≥300 mm (transverse)
650–850 MPa
A ≥30% for t ≥3 mm; no A80 value specified for t <3 mm
Not specified in EN10028-7 Table10
Original Table10. A uses L0=5.65√S0; A80 uses L0=80 mm, width20 mm (50 mm/12.5 mm specimen also permitted). Product-form/thickness scope is a standard limit, not a Sheye supply-range claim. Impact testing and other applicable order requirements remain relevant.
ASTM A240/A240MUNS S32001
Annealed flat product; room-temperature acceptance referenceNo grade-specific thickness split in the cited Table 2 row
≥450 MPa (0.2% offset)
≥620 MPa
≥25% (50 mm or 2 in. gauge length)
≤25 HRC
Room-temperature Table 2 reference; values are the printed SI limits. ASTM SI and inch-pound systems are independent. Yield uses 0.2% offset; Table 2 note B allows 0.5% total-extension-under-load unless otherwise specified. Elongation uses a 50 mm or 2 in. gauge length. Hardness alternatives and thin-material provisions follow Table 2 note C and A480. A480/A480M-22a §17.1.1: finished-material tension specimens may be longitudinal and/or transverse unless otherwise specified or agreed. Confirm the test direction in the contract and MTC.
JIS G 4305No direct JIS counterpart verified
No confirmed mechanical limits for this reference. Review the exact order specification.
—
—
—
—
GB/T 3280022Cr21Mn5Ni2N / S22152 (GB/T 3280-2015 reference for UNS S32001)
Solution-treated cold-rolled flat products; room temperatureCold-rolled only; A50 for t ≤3 mm; elongation and hardness reference only below 0.3 mm
≥450 MPa (Rp0.2)
≥620 MPa
≥25%
HRC ≤25; no HBW limit listed
GB/T 3280-2015 Table 27. Select one suitable listed hardness method. These cold-rolled limits must not be used as hot-rolled coil, sheet or plate acceptance criteria. Test specimen and contractual requirements remain applicable.
Reference editions & ordering conditions
ASTM A240 covers flat products; EN 10028-7 is for pressure-purpose flat products. JIS G4305 and GB/T 3280 cover cold-rolled flat products. Their cold-rolled values must not be used as acceptance limits for hot-rolled plate, bars or profiles. Confirm the standard edition and all supplementary requirements in the purchase order and mill test certificate.
EN 10028-7 — 2016; current DIN EN10028-7:2016-10, checked2026-09-09
Values are EN specification references, not automatic cross-standard equivalence, mill certification or universal as-hot-rolled guarantees. Width/direction-dependent yield minima are fully identified.
EN10028-7:2016 Tables4 and10 are verified for the EN reference grade. The EN chemistry is not identical to every UNS S32001 or producer chemistry range; offered dual-standard compliance requires a matching certificate. Do not confuse S32001/1.4482 with S32101/1.4162. The S32001 nickel and nitrogen ranges are materially different. Acerinox ACX920 combines two delivery-standard references and gives producer chemistry narrower in some elements; those figures were not substituted for EN Table4.
BS EN 10028-7:2016 original standard text — public mirrorCEN/BSI-authored standard text, not the site's editorial data: printedp.24 Table10, including complete width/direction headings, thickness maxima, A80/A columns and footnotes. Cross-checked with 2018-printed copy.
Acerinox — EN1.4482 / S32001 (2001)Steelmaker cross-reference:1.4482/X2CrMnNiMoN21-5-3/S32001. ACX920 chemistry is a producer range, not copied as EN limits.
Acerinox ACX920 duplex stainless steel datasheet2013,p.1:EN/UNS identity and H/P tensile/yield cross-check. Missing thickness/direction makes this secondary to the original standard row. p.2 contains apparent S32201 typo; not reused.
ASTM A240/A240M — A240/A240M-20a
Chemistry is heat-analysis mass percent. Omitted elements have no requirement in the cited row, not zero. A480/A480M governs product-analysis tolerances and general requirements. Mechanical values use the printed SI column. ASTM regards SI and inch-pound systems as independent: do not convert ksi to generate an SI acceptance limit. Room-temperature Table 2 reference properties. Confirm delivery heat treatment, specimen preparation, dimensional tolerances and all general requirements against the contractual A480/A480M edition. Yield is based on 0.2% offset; a 0.5% total-extension-under-load alternative is permitted unless otherwise specified. Elongation gauge length is 50 mm or 2 in. HBW and the specified Rockwell scale are alternative permissible methods; thin-gauge superficial hardness provisions apply. The full 2026 numerical tables were not available for verification. Display the reference edition and confirm the contractual edition and certificate before accepting an order.
Heat-analysis mass percent from ASTM A240/A240M-20a Table 1. Omitted elements are not zero-content requirements; product-analysis tolerances are governed separately. ASTM A240/A240M-26 is the current official catalogue edition. These are explicitly 20a reference values; the complete 2026 numeric tables were not directly verified. Hot-rolled coil/sheet/plate must still meet the specified annealed delivery condition, surface, dimensions and inspection requirements. These tables do not establish Sheye production dimensions. No numeric grain-size grade or fixed ferrite/austenite percentage is specified for this grade in the cited A240 rows. Agree any microstructure or phase-balance acceptance criteria separately; do not impose the austenitic H-grade grain rule on duplex material. A480/A480M-22a §18.3 requires A923/A1084 testing only when ordered, with grade applicability to be checked. Do not claim that every heat has passed an intermetallic-phase test without a certificate. ASTM Table 1 printed p.4 and Table 2 printed p.8. The row provides a Rockwell C maximum only; no HBW maximum is specified. Do not backfill a calculated Brinell limit. Annealing reference: A480/A480M-22a Table A1.2 minimum 1040°C, water quench or rapid cooling by other means; confirm the contract's incorporated edition. S32001 is different from S32003 and S32101. In particular, do not import an S32003/2003 product datasheet, the higher S32101 nitrogen band or a supplier's narrower nickel target as this ASTM limit. The Chinese designation S22152 is associated with S32001 in the cited primary research paper; cross-reference naming alone does not certify compliance with both standards.
JIS G 4305 — 2021; current JSSA and Nippon Steel 2026 reference summaries
JSA confirms the 2021 edition remains valid and was reaffirmed on 20 October 2025. Full purchased normative tables and all footnotes were not available for a complete current-edition audit. Listed chemistry is mass percent from primary JIS-grade summaries, not typical mill analysis. Missing cells mean not reproduced or not verified, not zero. Mechanical limits apply to the stated annealed/solution-treated cold-rolled condition at room temperature. Sampling, gauge length, direction, thickness-related rules and acceptance methods require the contractual standard. Corresponding designations are comparisons, not unconditional equivalence or proof that every supplied heat meets all listed standards.
No direct JIS G4305 or G4304 counterpart for S32001 was established from the reviewed JSA, JSSA and Japanese steelmaker primary sources. This means the direct correspondence is unverified, not a claim that no contractual Japanese specification can ever be agreed. JIS G4305 covers cold-rolled flat products. JIS G4304 is the separate hot-rolled flat-product standard; its scope alone does not establish grade coverage or numerical acceptance limits. Do not relabel SUS821L1, SUS323L or SUS329J3L as this grade merely because each is a duplex stainless steel.
JSA — JIS G 4304:2021Current valid hot-rolled stainless steel plate, sheet and strip standard; reaffirmed 20 October 2025. Edition and scope reference only; no hot-rolled grade acceptance limits are reproduced from this listing.
GB/T 3280 — 2015
Chemical composition is heat analysis, mass percent, from GB/T 3280-2015. The corresponding designation is a reference, not automatic cross-standard certification. The requested Sheye product is hot-rolled coil, sheet or plate. GB/T 3280 is a cold-rolled comparison only; confirm a hot-rolled order against GB/T 4237 or the other agreed hot-rolled product specification, including delivery condition and thickness-dependent tests. These standard reference properties do not state Sheye inventory, production dimensions, typical heat analysis or guaranteed cross-certification. S22152 is a Chinese unified numerical designation in the 2015 GB product standards; do not write UNS S22152. GB/T 3280-2015 Annex A compares it with the American designation S32001. Naming update: China Elevator Association standard T/CEA 0053-2024, Table 1 note a, identifies S20013 / 022Cr20Mn5Ni2N as the revised GB/T 20878 name for the older S22152 / 022Cr21Mn5Ni2N used by the 2015 GB product standards. The chemistry and mechanical limits displayed here remain those of GB/T 3280-2015; they have not been silently replaced by the newer association standard. Review the specified ASTM/UNS and GB editions and the mill certificate separately. A corresponding-grade table alone does not certify one heat to both systems.
GB/T 3280-2015, authored standard (reference scan)Table 17, printed p.12, chemistry; Table 27, pp.19-20, solution-treated duplex mechanical properties; Table A.1, p.32, corresponding designations. Original scan visually checked, not a distributor table.
SAMR — GB/T 3280-2015Official current status and cold-rolled plate, sheet and strip scope.
SAMR — GB/T 4237-2015Official current status and hot-rolled plate, sheet and strip scope. Edition and scope reference only; no hot-rolled numerical limits are reproduced from this listing.
China Elevator Association — T/CEA 0053-2024Printed p.4, Table 1 footnote a explicitly links revised GB/T 20878 S20013 / 022Cr20Mn5Ni2N to the older S22152 / 022Cr21Mn5Ni2N used in GB/T 4237-2015 and GB/T 3280-2015. Used only for naming history, not to replace the GB/T 3280 limits.
Reference review: 9 September 2026 · Sheye Metal
SHEYE SUPPLY
S32001 product forms & order details
Hot-rolled lean duplex supply
S32001 is a lean duplex stainless steel with an austenitic-ferritic structure. It is a material to consider when a fabricated component needs stainless corrosion resistance together with a higher strength level than common austenitic grades. Selection should reflect the environment, fabrication route and project requirements.
Enquiries can cover hot-rolled coil, sheets cut from coil and plate. Provide the required thickness and width, plus cut lengths for flat pieces or coil handling requirements for coil orders. Supply dimensions and delivery condition are confirmed for the individual order.
Keep the UNS and EN requirements distinct
The European comparison is 1.4482 / X2CrMnNiMoN21-5-3. EN 10028-7 provides pressure-purpose flat-product requirements, while EN 10088-2 covers general-purpose corrosion-resistant flat products. The applicable standard, edition, heat treatment and inspection requirements should be stated explicitly.
Cross-reference names help identify candidate materials, but their permitted chemical ranges are not necessarily identical. If you require both UNS S32001 and an EN grade, request confirmation that the offered material and certificate meet both specifications. A producer’s typical datasheet composition does not replace the order’s acceptance limits.
S32001, S22152 and S32101
The Chinese designation S22152 has a documented comparison with S32001, together with a naming change in the current Chinese grade catalogue. Confirm which Chinese standard edition or mill specification applies before accepting a substitution.
S32101 is a different lean duplex grade. Its nitrogen specification and other alloy ranges differ from S32001. Similar product names or strength levels are insufficient grounds for treating them as the same material.
Prepare a fabrication-focused enquiry
Include exposure to moisture, chlorides or process chemicals, together with the intended forming and welding operations. State the required surface, edge condition, flatness, cut-length tolerance and protective packing. Where inspection depends on material width or test direction, identify those requirements before cutting. Request heat traceability and the certificate type needed for your project so that documentation can follow the material through processing and delivery.
May we use optional analytics cookies to understand visits and improve our website? You can use our website and send inquiries either way.
About analytics
With your permission, Google Analytics measures pages viewed, approximate visitor regions and inquiry, email and WhatsApp link interactions. It uses first-party cookies that identify a browser. We do not send your inquiry content, name, email address or phone number to Analytics. Google may process analytics data outside your country. Our analytics cookies expire within 6 months; your choice is remembered for 6 months. Withdraw permission any time using Privacy choices. This stops future collection and clears our analytics cookies.